Beef Knuckles

World in motion.

Posted in Uncategorized by roburt on December 9, 2009

Did you know that they love their sports stars in Papua New Guinea? The TV just told me that. They also love life, and there’s a good chance of growth there, cricket wise. The TV says a lot of stupid shit around 11:28pm, so instead let’s talk about England.

West Ham are my favourite football club. They’re not very good and their best league finish during my lifetime was a 5th place in ’98-’99, but that hardly matters (I’m very loyal with shitty sporting teams). The club is based somewhere out of East London and was very popular with Jamaican immigrants and anarcho skinheads in the ’70s and ’80s, which is pretty cool, although I didn’t really know this information when I first started liking them sometime during the mid-’90s. What made me really like them as a dumbnuts teenager was one man – Paolo Di Canio.

Paolo Di Canio was an Italian, which I don’t usually tolerate, but he was great and would score ridiculous goals for the Hammers on a weekly basis. He was also a REALLY crazy fucken bastard. One day he’d take it upon himself to stop a game to make sure an injured opponent was given medical treatment, and the next day he’d beat up a referee. A few years later when he moved on to play for Lazio in the Italian league (his fave childhood team), he caused a stir after giving a fascist salute to the club’s traditionally ultra-right fans. In his defence he said some shit like “I was just waving hello!”, but I’ve seen nice people wave hello and they don’t usually do it like this

So anyway, I don’t really know where I was going with all this, but since I’m kinda talking about England and football, I’ll leave you with this classic track from New Order.

Tagged with: ,

Leave a Reply

